Cap Iron Screwdriver

A long over due project, in need of this simple tool for far too long.

Making a cap iron screwdriver to remove or tighten the screw on chip breaker from the plane iron.

I don’t have a lathe, so I got a stair/moulding decorative turned piece from Lowe’s to start with. Another annoying challenge is for some reasons, 5/8” copper tubing is not a purchasable item in Long Island. Although the website shows it, the store just does not carry the item. I found a 3/4 to 1/2” coupling with the right 5/8” inner diameter instead as the ferrule.

Cut off a wrought iron flat bar, filed down to the proper thickness for the screw slot. Cut off the excess from the decorative end piece and cut a slot to fit the screw driver head.

A quick afternoon project, a long over due tool. I think my planes will thank me for this.

Leave a comment