Making a Branding Iron

After many years of using aftermarket branding stamp to imprint a logo on the woodwork, think that it is time I make one of my own.

The idea is to imprint my initial ” J Y” from the character “木工人” when it is reversed. Pronounced Mu Gong Ren, as in woodworking men.

Obtain a 3/4 brass from eBay (Yes indeed, eBay has everything). Marked the center and drilled a hole, tapped it with threads equivalent to rod that I picked up from box store.

First time dealing with this, using Dremel craving tool slowly carving out the waste.  It was a lot easier than I thought, perhaps brass is soft enough material that it was fun to deal with.

img_7285

Attached to the rod with handle

First test, asked around if they recognized the characters, so far many do but commented that it did not quite look like “J Y”

img_7287

Second attempt

img_7291.jpg

“木工人”

“J Y” + reversed “木”

 

Leave a comment