Hand planes shelf

Now that I have a workbench that I could pretend to be a woodworker, I need a shelf that I could hold my handy dandy hand planes nearby. 

Like things in life, no exception in woodworking, is that you found there are so many questions which need answers only when you decide to execute it. Should I hang the planes uprights, lie them on their sides, lay them down bottom flat? Blades retracted?  How to shelf them horizontally? Vertically? What is the perfect height?  How strong does it need to hold a bunch of irons?

All these questions, enough to make a simple solution very complex as you didn’t know where to begin with. Then all these confusions become clearer once I eliminated all of the choices, one by one, until there were no more optional choices, then things become simple again. 





2 thoughts on “Hand planes shelf

Leave a Reply

