Sofa-End Credenza Part II

Finding and selecting the perfect groups of lumber is definitely not my specialty. For one I particular like “defects” in the wood, as I think that purposely avoiding them and selecting the premium grade of wood grain or cut-outs is like hiding physical scars with plastic surgery. Not only is it not natural, it also defeats the fundamental of woodworking. For two, working with defects require much imagination. I honestly think that I subconsciously have restrained myself by too much of conventional thinking from day to day living routine and lack the free form of creativity and artistic vision.

Regardless, to my best effort, what I could do is I started with laying out the pile of cherry flat on the ground so I could use my limited imagination to picture how shall I put them together.

IMG_0830IMG_0844

Gluing into boards and panels
IMG_0845 IMG_0851

Forming the skeletons
IMG_0846 IMG_0856 IMG_0881 IMG_0877
Dry fitting
IMG_0878IMG_0879
Fitting hardware for the 1st time
IMG_1076 IMG_1077

Messing with turquoise inlays. I had a wonderful experience purchasing the turquoise with a seller in Gilmer Rock Shop named Fred. Meeting folks like Fred is what makes woodworking community especially great.
IMG_1104 IMG_1109
Inserting the ebonized plugs
IMG_1106DSC_0087
Pause and look at the cut off knot, why do people not like this?
DSC_0097 DSC_0106 DSC_0110 DSC_0093

After coated with some BLO and varnish, I started to experience with beeswax, Carnauba wax and turpentine to mix my own finish recipe… This wax business is harder than it looks, my first attempt was a sticky and dull, sheen-less block of hard wax. There are tons of recipe online, but none shows me which is “the” recipe. After probably five trials and errors, I end up using 5 ingredients, turpentine, stand oil, BLO, beeswax, paraffin and Carnauba wax, to which it finally brings some desired sheen on the finish that is easy to use.
IMG_1134IMG_1136

DSC_0211

A fully assembled sofa-end credenza. Just like my Lego prototype. Well, almost.DSC_0176 DSC_0157 DSC_0220 DSC_0148

DSC_0245DSC_0221DSC_0252DSC_0246

DSC_0145back credenza

top credenzaDSC_0218DSC_0242DSC_0240front credenza

5 thoughts on “Sofa-End Credenza Part II

Leave a Reply

